strongly committed to the mission of lewis university, the board of trustees consists of nearly forty very competent men and women who bring to the university a wide range of experience in diverse fields, including corporate leadership, law, higher education, volunteer work, healthcare, finance, government and industry. board membership includes nine members of the de la salle christian brothers, sponsors of lewis university. at the current time, twenty-two trustees are alumni of lewis university.

the board of trustees provides significant support and advocacy for the catholic and lasallian mission of lewis university. the trustees help ensure that the university will be directed in accord with the moral, spiritual and religious inspiration and values of the catholic church and guided by the spiritual, intellectual and educational ideals of the christian brothers, in the spirit of their founder, saint john baptist de la salle.

since 1680, educational institutions around the world have been influenced by the vision and innovative spirit of de la salle, the patron saint of teachers. lasallian education emphasizes academic excellence, faith formation, an appreciation of diversity, respect for the individual, service and social justice. a lasallian education strives to enrich each student's intellectual, cultural, physical, social and spiritual development. the de la salle christian brothers and their lasallian partners, with the constant encouragement of the lewis university board of trustees, continue to respond to students by stimulating minds, touching hearts and cultivating leadership.

The lewis university board of trustees meets three times annually, usually in February, May and October. Each Trustee is invited to serve on at least one of the Board Committees, including those for Academic Affairs, Audit, Development, Finance, Legal and Corporate Affairs, Mission & Planning, student services, trusteeship and Governance, and Property, Plant and Equipment. chairs of these committees serve along with the Board officers on the Executive Committee. Each of these committees considers a variety of relevant topics in depth and presents its recommendations to the full Board, on issues such as academic programming, campus planning, capital development and funding, annual budgets and more. Committee reports are scheduled at each Board meeting.

board of trustees 2018-2019

front row sitting (left to right): 
kathleen halloran; dr. david livingston; michael parker

first row standing: 
luigi amendola;  br. ernest miller, fsc; dr. kathleen cieplak owens; dr. christopher sindt; barbara martin; peter limberger; h. teresa krejci; br. joseph saurbier, fsc; dr. kristi kelly

second row standing
raymond kennelly, kenneth gabriel; mary lancaster; kevin newquist; eduardo sanchez; mohra gavankar; guy wiebking; christopher perry; robert pluth, jr; congressman daniel lipinski

third row standing: 
william rybak; dr. leroy butler; br. david galinski, fsc; michael morefield; dr. james girard; dr. mary catherine fox, afsc; bryan durkin; reverand paul novak, osm; jeffery stahl; dr. kurt schackmuth

not pictured: 
br. dominic ehrmantraut, fsc; timothy ferrarell; colonel duane hayden; dr. siham ibrahim; pamela mott; dr. brennan o’donnell; dr. sarode pundaleeka; br. michael quirk, fsc; carol schneider

officers of the board of trustees2019-2020

kathleen halloran, chair
michael parker, vice chair
kenneth gabriel, treasurer
jeffrey j. stahl, secretary

see schedule of board of trustees meetings.

members of the board of trustees


dr. kathleen cieplak owens
president emerita
gwynedd mercy university

bryan durkin
cme group

brother dominic ehrmantraut, fsc
christian brothers university

timothy ferrarell
senior vice president, enterprise systems (retired)
w.w. grainger, inc.

dr. mary catherine fox, afsc
provincial designee
professor of interdisciplinary studies (retired)
saint mary’s university of minnesota

kenneth gabriel, treasurer
partner (retired)
kpmg, llp

brother david galinski, fsc
saint patrick high school

mohra gavankar
president of rockdale controls inc. and
president of roco productions

dr. james girard
professor of chemistry
american university

kathleen halloran, chair
executive vice president finance/administration (retired)
nicor, inc.

colonel duane hayden
executive director
gary / chicago international airport authority

dr. siham ibrahim
si consulting, ltd. (dba: daniella’s designs)

mary lancaster, cpa
wermer, rogers, doran, and ruzon, llc

peter limberger
mtec capital inc/cl enterprise llc

congressman dan lipinski
u.s. representative for illinois
3rd congressional district

dr. david livingston
lewis university

barbara j. martin

brother ernest miller, fsc
vice president for mission
la salle university

michael morefield
senior executive vice president and chief financial officer
portola packaging, inc. (retired)

pamela mott
chief human resources officer (retired)
christian brothers services

kevin newquist
newquist associates

reverend paul e. novak, osm
de la salle institute

dr. brennan o’donnell
manhattan college

michael parker, vice chair
senior vice president – executive director broker relations (retired)
liberty mutual middle market

christopher perry
president, global sales, marketing and client solutions
broadridge financial solutions, inc.

robert r. pluth, jr.
schiff hardin llp

dr. sarode pundaleeka
founder and president (retired)
joliet oncology-hematology associates ltd.

brother michael quirk, fsc
president/chief executive officer
christian brothers services

william rybak, chair emeritus
executive vice president and chief financial officer (retired)
van kampen investments

eduardo sanchez
chairman and chief executive officer
lopez foods, inc.

brother joseph saurbier, fsc
director of administration and operations
christian brothers of the midwest

carol l. schneider
president and chief executive officer
mercy hospital and medical center

jeffrey j. stahl, secretary
stahl cowen crowley addis llc

guy wiebking
board member
presence health ministries

trustees emeriti

michael hughes
president (retired)
huen electric

michael waters
chairman emeritus
waters and associates